Twenty out of the 39 nominees whose names were recently sent by Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu to the Lagos State House of Assembly have so far been screened by a committee of the House which began sitting on Sunday.

It is expected that all the cabinet nominees would have been screened by Wednesday when the exercise is expected to end.

On Monday, the committee grilled Mrs. Adetoke Benson- Awoyinka, immediate past Special Adviser to Governor Sanwo-Olu on Housing, and Mrs Bola Olumegbon Lawal, a former Executive Secretary of Yaba Local Council Development Area (LCDA).

Others screened are Yakoob Ekundayo Alebiosu, Idris Aregbe, Abdul-Kabir Opeyemi Ogungbo, Dr. Oreoluwa finnih- Awokoya, Eng. Abiola Okanlawon Moshood Olowu, Dr. Adekunle Olayinka, Mosopefolu George, and Eng. Aramide Adeyoye.

Earlier on Sunday, the committee led by Hon. Mojeed Fatai, Chief Whip of the House, screened Mobolaji Abubakre Ogunlende, Dr. Olamide Abiodun Babatunde, Lawal Pedro, and Afolabi Waheed Ayantayo, immediate past Special Adviser to the Governor on Parastatals Monitoring.

Others include Mr. Jamiu Tolani Adedeji Alli-Balogun, Olugbenga Olanrewaju Olaniyi, Ogunwuyi Rotimi Ekundayo, Hon. Ibrahim Olanrewaju Layode, immediate past lawmaker of the State from Badagry, Adetokunbo Wahab and
Olakunle O Rotimi-Akodu.

The Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. Mudashiru Obasa, had recently constituted the 12-man ad-hoc committee for the exercise.

The committee is to make a report to the House when it reconvenes.

At the commencement of the screening, Hon. Fatai had noted that the task before the lawmakers was in line with a provision of the 1999 Constitution.

“The House of Assembly has the mandate to screen and confirm the nominees for the position of commissioners and Special Advisers.

“Recall that on July 28, 2023, the Executive Governor of Lagos State submitted a total of 39 commissioners and Special Adviser nominees,” he said adding that the recommendation of the committee would be presented to the House.

Members of the committee include Hon. Adedamola Kasumu, Hon. Ajomale Oladipo, Hon. Saheed Babafemi, Hon. Nureni Akinsanya, and Hon. Ajani Owolabi.

The others are Hon. Sa’ad Olumo, Hon. Sanni Okanlawon, Hon. Adewale Temitope, Hon.Ajayi Oladele, Hon. Abdulkareem Jubril and Hon. Orekoya Abiodun.

Eromosele Ebhomele
Media Assistant to the Speaker of the Lagos State House of Assembly

Categories: Business News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.